The John S. Knight Memorial Journalism Fund Inc. annually awards scholarships to college journalism, public relations and communications students, with preference given to students from Summit, Portage, Medina, Stark and Wayne counties.

The scholarships are awarded in memory of John S. Knight, longtime editor of the Akron Beacon Journal and founder of Knight Ridder newspapers. Mr. Knight called Akron home for most of his life, working his way up in the family owned Akron Beacon Journal from sports writer to editor, publisher and Pulitzer Prize winning columnist. Mr. Knight was editorial chairman of Knight-Ridder Newspapers Inc. until 1976. He died in 1981.

Another scholarship honors the memory of longtime public relations professional and professor Ludel Sauvageot. Mrs. Sauvageot was a well-known and respected public relations professional, award-winning journalist, author and educator for more than 65 years. She was a long-time Akron General Medical Center Women’s Board member and trustee of the American Heart Association. In 1946, her vision led to the establishment of the first public relations department for an Ohio hospital at Akron General Medical Center. She was named the department’s first director. The author of four books, she was inducted into the Ohio Women’s Hall of Fame in 1990.

This year, five students each will be awarded a $5,000 Knight scholarship. Another student will win the $5,000 Sauvageot memorial scholarship.

Four other $5,000 scholarships will be given. One will be in the name of Russ Pry, a memorial scholarship for the late Summit County executive. Two will be given through the generosity of Dr. Aileen Thong. One other will be given through the generosity of Elizabeth Bartz, President and CEO at State and Federal Communications, Inc.

Spread the word.

%d bloggers like this: